Tayutama: Kiss on my Deity Review

Tayutama: Kiss on my Deity13992l
Completed 2015
Type: TV
Completed Episodes: 12/12
Aired: Apr, 2009 to Jun, 2009

Producers: Media Factory, Silver Link, Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Silver Link

Tayutama is a Visual Novel Adaptation developed by Lump of Sugar.

I have so many mixed feelings for this anime. I spent much of it feeling like something was missing. Something magic ingredient which would make me fall in love with these characters and the story, but failed too. Instead I found myself angry and swept away in the drama of the tale. It made me want to cry, made me want to scream. Love is a tale which is strong in this anime. All favours of it. Broken hearts, unrequited love and doomed love. My heart ached so much for some of the characters. This was also another harem which didn’t involve all the girls in love with the male lead but instead having a various a ray of friendships types. There are still a lot of relationship drama though. Drama aside, almost everything else was lacking in some minor way which lowered the anime’s rating to a silver for me.
Tayutama 4Mashiro is local deity. Awakened by an accident, she wishes to make it so her kind, the Tayutai, can coexist with humans peacefully. She ends up living with the male lead and declaring him her wife. Due to a promise he made when she was young, not expecting her to grow to an adult the next day. The relationship between Mashiro and Yuuri is sweet. He will do anything for her and loves her very much. To the point where he can be a real jerk to everyone else around him.
Tayutama
In particular to his childhood friend who has a massive crush on him. He’s got her firmly friend-zoned though. Arguably she doesn’t tell him but the amount of times she is about to, or she invites him out with the intention of doing so only for Mashiro to get in the way is almost ridiculous. I feel so sorry for her. Especially with evil guy whispering her ears all the time. Trust me there were some episodes where I really hate Yuuri and just want to punch his head in. Everyone ones it. His best friend knows it. Mashiro knows it.

‘Ameri’s just my childhood friend’
‘She is a woman first!’

 – Conversation where Mashiro is trying to get him to understand. Damn right Mashiro! Ameri is a woman first and you, Yuuri are being a inconsiderate jerk!

Especially when he does finally clue in and refuses to acknowledge it. ‘Its not important’. It bloody is! She is your childhood friend. You can’t leave her to wallow in self pity. Something which really comes back to bite him him in the ass when she sides with the bad guy. Or rather he takes advantage of her state. Leaving Mashiro to have to wake Ameri up from her dream world where Mashiro never existed.

Tayutama 2
Oh how I laughed and cried. This is not the first anime I have watched where the childhood friend loses out but this anime takes it to extremes. As for the other aspects. The fighting evil/defeating the big three was a bit of a disappointment. One stole pants because she wanted to try them on. One was actually two and had a couple argument before attracting themselves to the leads step sister. The other, he did cause problems which ended up in a fight which destroys tokyo tower. Because that wasn’t a trope I hadn’t seen in a while lol. Ending is very sad as well.
Tayutama 3
One thing that is different? About this anime is the style. To me its very dated. The eyes are big, the hair is proof and the design is very old. Its cute but their is a 90s/early 00s feeling to this anime which is strange considering it was made in 2009. To me though it does adds to the slowness of the story / reasons against it.  So silver.

2 thoughts on “Tayutama: Kiss on my Deity Review”

Leave a Reply

